Three ways we can kill our dreams…

“Dreams provide nourishment to the soul, just as a meal does for the body.”  Paulo Coelho.

I spent the weekend reading “The Pilgrimage” by Paulo Coelho.  It is a soul provoking book.  As I read, I realize that I have actually lost track of my own dreams. At 4 – 5 years old, I remember standing in the playground at my infant school and thinking out loud “I want to be a teacher!”  Although I seem to be quite young then, I was inspired by teaching and learning and it was the only thing that I wanted to do. I was in alignment with that thought and the thought became my words  and words transformed into actions right through elementary and secondary school as I fought the good fight to keep my dream in sight. I wanted it badly and I achieved it quickly.  It seemed that the whole universe conspired to get me there.

In the pilgrimage, Petrus talks about three symptoms of losing our dreams:

a) lack of time

b) Our certainties – Because we don’t want to see life as a grand adventure, we begin to think of ourselves as wise and fair and correct about asking so little of life

c) peace – life becomes a Sunday afternoon; we ask for nothing grand and we cease to demand anything more than we are willing to give.

How true, I think to myself.  I do amazing work which aligns to my values as a professional and as a mother.  But are those things my dreams?  I think I have become comfortable with working and doing a few other interesting things but, I don’t know if I am having a “good fight” for something I believe in deeply. 

“The good fight is the one fought in the name of our dreams.  When we’re young and our dreams first explode inside us with all their force, we are very courageous, but we haven’t learned how to fight.  With great effort, we learn how to fight but by then we no longer have the courage to go on into combat.  So we turn against ourselves and do battle within.  We become our worst enemy.  We say that our dreams are childish, or too difficult to realize or the result of our not having known enough about life.  We kill our dreams because we are afraid to fight the good fight.”  P Choelo

And so I being to search my soul again… to uncover my buried dreams…. to affirm to my own self that I do have time, that it is not over, that I should ask for more from life than I do… that I am not too old to dream.  I invite my dreams back to my life and I am willing to fight the good fight.

FeelGood!!! and LookGood!!! by nourishing our souls with our dreams… YES, we can achieve what we set our hearts to do… we can fight the good fight!

Love,

 Magdalene

One thought on “Three ways we can kill our dreams…

  1. I love this one! My grandmother used to tell my mother, “Never stop dreaming.” This was passed on to me, and I hope I continue to dream — I think I do. Following my dreams is a whole other thing. Like you, I followed my dream to be a teacher, and successfully taught in public school for a long time. It was my calling, and my career, which I found to be most fulfilling.
    Now, being retired, dreaming and following my dreams is a new kind of ‘ball game.’ As always, it is up to me to make my dreams become my reality. It takes persistence, if not work. It is challenging not to just forget about it and find something else, perhaps easier, to do.
    So, again, thank you for prompting me to think again about continuing to dream and to work on making my dream/s come true.
    Love,
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

