Washing of the feet… A window to the soul…

ImageFor It is the fourth year in a row, I have attended the washing of the feet ritual at our local church, a ritual which I started because it simply speaks to my heart as well as part of the Catholic faith.  Although I don’t consider myself a great catholic, I do respect  the rituals, because rituals can help us remain grounded, if they do touch our soul. Each year, it humbles me even more when my feet are washed my a total stranger and I can do the same for another.  This year, man with whom seemed quite challenged physically washed my feet and I could not help but admire his determination as he struggled to get to the chair and to perform this ritual, a task which for most would be something simple but for him required tremendous effort. I found myself being so grateful for my own good physical body and at the same time saying a prayer for him.  I washed the feet of a young boy, about 7 years old and could not help but say a little prayer for him as I wiped his feet, that God would guide and protect him as he makes his way through life. 

What is it about this ritual that captivates me so much?  What is the significance of washing a stranger’s feet and letting a stranger wash my own feet?

In an article by Bill Keese in the Forerunner Magazine, he states that “The foot washing ceremony, recorded in John 13:1-17, allows us a window into the character of our Savior. When we apply the lessons of this unique and instructive ritual in our lives, it gives us a better understanding of why some people struggle to find happiness yet never fully achieve it, and why others are brimful and running over with joy. Master = Servant

The significance for me is that it humbles me and reaffirms for me that my purpose in life is to serve.  The experience makes me feel light and free and touches my own soul.  Even though we don’t physically wash another’s feet or let our feet be washed, I also believe that magic grows in our lives, when we can simply see ourselves as servants, especially for those of us who hold leadership roles.  It is not about US, it is about those whom we serve.  It is about giving back  what is given to us… passing the baton every single day of our lives. I found myself praying also for my team at work and my family,  that I could become more humble and provide the leadership that is required for us to grow stronger and be of service to each other.

  • How do we serve and pass on the baton?
  • Has someone every given up a seat for you?
  • Has someone opened an opportunity for you?
  • Has someone forgiven you?
  • Has someone given you more credit than you actually deserved?
  • Has someone overlooked your fault even though it could have been detrimental?
  • What did we do anyway to be in this amazing universe?

If we take a moment to observe our lives, we will realize on a day to day basis that others are perhaps washing our feet.  Can we wash another’s feet?

Being of service opens the window to the soul. It deposits the good stuff into our accounts and the more good stuff we have there,the more life automatically supports us.

You call Me Teacher and Lord, and you say well, for so I am. If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet; you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you. Most assuredly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master; nor is he who is sent greater than he who sent him.

If I don’t write another blog this weekend, I would like to wish  all of you wonderful, supportive readers a blessed and happy Easter Weekend.  Let us continue to be of service others and to live the example of Christ by leading through humilty and being of service.

LookGood!!!FeelGood!!! by being of service to others.

Love,

Magdalene

Leave a Reply

