“It’s not your work to make anything happen. It’s your work to dream it and let it happen”

“It’s not your work to make anything happen. It’s your work to dream it and let it happen. Law of Attraction will make it happen. In your joy, you create something, and then you maintain your vibrational harmony with it, and the Universe must find a way to bring it about. That’s the promise of Law of Attraction.” ~ Abraham (Esther & Jerry Hicks) ~

Last summer a conversation with my sister about a “troublesome kid” got me thinking.  It was a situation where a kid was giving quite a lot of trouble at school and after several complaints she commented “The teachers have not found a way to touch the child’s soul“.  I pondered on this quite a lot and reflected on my own teaching experience whether I had touched the souls of the kids I taught.  Did I give them something to dream of… did I make them want more of life… did I make them feel that they were important and had something significant to share and give to the world… that their presence in the world made a huge difference…   I think for the greater part I did but looking back, it was what came naturally – not something was  I had been taught to do.  If I had to repeat my teaching experience with what I know about how life today,  I think I would have done things quite differently.

We are taught to do things logically. Work hard, be on time, follow the rules, be obedient, save money,take calculated risks… while there is truth to many of those things, I have often questioned why “dreaming and manifesting” is not seen as major teaching-learning activities that need to be taught early – to  stimulate the mind to achieve more effortlessly…and by the pure pleasure of feeling joy from within.  We tell children to dream – they can be anything they want to be but very often this is tied to the name of a profession – not necessarily  the things that naturally brings joy to the soul. I think that many systems and processes are created to control our thinking so that as teachers we have something more real to “mark” and a tangible way to control the outcome of the learning. Several years ago my son Jelan who was 8 years at the time (who is a creative, out of the box thinker) got “0” on an English question. 

The question was “What was your favourite part of the story and why?”

His answer was “I did not have a favourite part.  I liked the full story and I think that all the parts were connected to make the story complete.”

Is there something wrong with his answer?  I don’t think so.  Getting a “0” deflated him completely and no matter how I tried to get him to think of a favourite part – he kept to his point that the story was just a story… there was no favourite part for him.  He saw a series of events – one leading to the other. The teacher on the other hand was looking for a specific answer that would analyse how the child thought and obviously this answer did not demonstrate any analysis.

 I can see how we have created systems and processes that box the minds of our children and how many parameters have been created around failure and success in education. 

Is there a way to teach dreaming?  Is there a way to teach “feeling” and “what brings you joy?”  Is it something that we just need to let ourselves discover?  Is there something about being too small or too big to dream?

I am a dreamer and I know that from personal experience, I have achieved much more through just pure synchronicity rather than the all logical framework.  This last week  was another testimony that having a dream which you can “feel’ eventually gets connected to the greater force of the universe and creates its own syncronicities that make things just simply fall in place.  One can work hard to put things in place and another can dream and achieve more with less.

For the last three years, I have been dreaming that the program I am currently managing will become a national model.  In the last few weeks I have been quietly thinking more about it because it is on the last year of funding and we need to have a sustainability strategy. It has been my dream to travel across Canada to see how we can make linkages with other organizations to make this a reality.  Out of the blues, I had a meeting with another stakeholder where this may be a real possibility. He ended the conversation and said “Tell me where you need to go to get this started… my program will pay your travel”  I left there thinking “WOW!”

Television has been my other dream – to be a TV host, a producer or a director – all in keeping to my soul mission to inspire and motivate others.  I love the creativity of putting things together and to be able to write scripts and tell stories etc.  Well, this week, I decided to take it out of my mind and try a small experiment to see if it would really work.  I researched a television company and noticed that they were looking for volunteers. I filled up a volunteer application form, was called for an information session and lo and behold, I will start volunteering in with a producer of a show – in June if all goes well.

Feel your soul today.  I believe that what you feel in there is real and it is the beginning of big and small dreams to accomplish your soul mission.

LookGood!!!FeelGood by believing that it is your work to dream….

Magdalene

One thought on ““It’s not your work to make anything happen. It’s your work to dream it and let it happen”

  1. This is a great piece. it’s amazing how you were able to connect everything centered around the soul. Actually it’s related strongly to believing in yourself. i urge you to keep on dreaming, nothing is impossible especially when you believe that God is there when no one is. Lots of love.

Leave a Reply

