Could a Thematic Approach to 2013 be more suited to you than making New Year’s Resolutions?

Since 2009, I have used themes to give me an anchor and focus during each year. Each theme came  intuitively and I simply went with the flow. Looking back, I can see that there was some inner guidance and this process has re-affirmed that there is great wisdom in following our inner wisdom.  Perhaps after all, we already know the answers which we seek.  Here’s a tiny glimpse of my experience with theme based years.

2009 – Watching 100 Movies 

Between 2007 – 2009, my emotions were frozen with some personal issues that left a dark shadow over me. One of my own spiritual practices is to surrender what I have no control over,  after I have done all I can. I felt that I had lost my voice, power and vibrancy and was quite invisible at my soul level.  I needed an escape from my life and watching those 100 movies provided that sweet escape.  Interestingly enough, serendipity also stepped in and somehow almost every single movie I watched seem to speak directly to me.  Some characters became my voice and the storylines engaged my mind and helped me to find my way home. I found answers, made peace with myself, started accepting what I could not change. New inspiration started flowing to me. 

Movies

Major life lesson:  There is a magic that happens when we surrender things to God – I know that even when it seems that I took no action to make things better or worst, I felt there was a mental shift that drew circumstances together and created solutions. Sometimes, we need incubation time to let things unfold as they should.

2010 – 365 Fabulous Days – Dancing

At the end of 2009, my personal situation got resolved in an unanticipated way and I felt a surge of freedom and renewed energy.  I wanted to dance!  I registered for Salsa classes and  danced twice a week for almost 9 months. It was fun and exhilarating. My soul began to fill with light again. I became more visible and more radiant.   Interestingly again, new doors opened in every aspect in my life – I worked at my soul level,  I got a new promotion and did a lot consultancy work,  met incredible people and love flowed in my life. Just keeping the theme 365 Fabulous Days in mind, created a kind of magic everyday. I even marked a calendar for evey faboulous day and honestly, I had about 7 sad/bad days in 2010.  I was on a roll – I felt that miracles were happening all around me and 2010 was one of the best years of my life.

Couple dancing Tango

Major life lesson:  We attract new opportunities and great people in our lives when our own souls are free of clutter and darkness.

2011 – No Theme

Everything flowed so well from 2010 that I did not have the time to give 2011 a theme.  Maybe I did not need it. I simply went with the flow and it was another incredible year. Lots of wonderful things happened even though I also experienced sadness. The biggest loss of 2011 was my mom’s death and the greatest blessing was spending those last five days of her life with her.  Friendships that developed in 2010 continued in 2011 and I thank God everyday for the wonderful people who showed up in my life.  I am glad that I showed up in my own life or else I would have missed them!

Major life lesson:  Don’t interfere with what is working well.  Just let it continue to roll!    

2012 – LookGood!!!FeelGood!!!

Picture0189

This theme emerged after my mom’s death which left me with an emptiness that words cannot describe. I felt the need to write and to take care of myself physically, mentally and emotionally. By blogging, I found a way to anchor my emotions and at the same time reach out to others by making my blog public. The theme itself “LookGood!!! FeelGood!!!” stuck like a mantra in my mind and I was consciously more aware my appearance and consciously created tons of lookgood and feelgood moments in 2012. I even lost about 10 lbs by simply being consistent with exercising and making better choices with food. Half-way through the year, I developed a mission statement for my life which has been a powerful tool in helping me to shape my experiences in a way that gives greater meaning and purpose to my life.

My soul mission in this lifetime is to learn and share knowledge which will inspire and motivate others to expand their souls and be inspired to live their own life mission. I live my soul mission by: a) facilitating, training and coaching ; b) writing and c) sharing resources and tools with and from others.

125

Blogging was a bold step, especially to share personal experiences. However my life became even more enriched as I let my guard down a bit and connected with bloggers across the globe and the many wonderful people who became frequent readers. I fulfilled my fantasy dream of being a writer one day simply because there was an audience for my “literature” (smile).  I quickly discovered that what truly inspires me is soul stories and I found myself meeting people from all walks of life and actually doing mini-interviews with them to learn more about their lives. I became more and more humbled and more and more grateful for all that I am blessed with.  Situations became ideas for writing and the best part of my day was writing – some of which turned to blogs! Once again, serendipity kicked in and I found clarity to my unending questions about life. Each blog seem to speak to me and when I re-read, it seem that I also need to follow my advice.  As Richard Bach stated, “You teach best what you most need to learn.”

Major Life Lesson: Our subconscious minds are very powerful in creating our everyday reality.  Once we decide… all things flow together!

So after using themes for three years, I have come to appreciate this approach over making rigid resolutions. Personally, keeping just one theme in mind is easier, allows more flexibility and each theme became a process of self-discovery.

For anyone wishing to celebrate 2013 using a thematic approach, here are some simple tips:

a)  The best way to choose a theme is to listen to your intuition.  Somewhere inside of you knows what you are looking or longing for – if you just keep on thinking about it, an idea will come to you – don’t second guess yourself! Go with your intuition!  concept

b) Don’t wait to get everything perfect or else you will never start.  When I read over my blogs, I can spot many typos and grammatical errors but I accept that they are less than perfect and it was my personal project – not a project for evaluation or assessment. “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” Dr. Seuss. I never learnt all the Salsa moves but I can assure you that I had a lot of fun even when stepping on other people’s toes!

c) Keep to a routine, get the support of friends and family,be consistent and celebrate your achievements!  I created an early morning routine to write for about an hour.  When I danced, I scheduled classes which forced me to organized my work and family life.  When I watched the 100 movies, I scheduled them in the evenings after work and on the weekends and got my family and friends involved in picking and recommending movies.  Having a plan and making others part of your plan can make it easier to stay focused.

d) Don’t be too hard on yourself if you miss out sometimes and don’t forget your family.  Life happens. There were weeks I did not blog or attend my classes because there were interruptions like death, celebrations and other priorities.  There were also days that my family complained because I was so caught up with blogging or dancing or watching movies that I did not pay adequate attention to them. Keep your priorities in check! 

DSC05907

Now I am looking forward to 2013!!!  My new theme is Tune IN and Step UP!!! 

I have chosen this theme because I think the last three years have prepared me to tune in more to my intuition and to step up more to do what truly matters to my soul.  Note that I keep talking about SOUL because we are made of three parts – the body, mind and soul.  Somehow, most of us keep focused on our minds and bodies but I have discovered that our soul is perhaps the part of us that most longs to be found and nurtured.  When we connect with the true nature of soul, our lives can never be the same again!  We develop a whole new lease on life!  

I want to get out of my way, TUNE IN more to the power of my soul and have the courage to STEP UP  to live my soul’s mission.

Cheers to a magnificent 2013! 

Happy New Year

THANK YOU ALL for your support, encouragement and your time! May you and your family be blessed with joy, peace, happiness and prosperity.  May 2013 be a successful and soul-finding year for you!

I would appreciate any feedback and comments.  I know that you have to open a word press account to comment – it only takes a couple of minutes. 🙂

Love,

Magdalene

3 thoughts on “Could a Thematic Approach to 2013 be more suited to you than making New Year’s Resolutions?

  1. Happy new year my dear!! Beautiful post! By the way…I’ve switched jobs…start with the Ministry of the Attorney General on January 7th. Very excited! All the best to you, Gina

    • Thanks Gina! Happy New Year to you and your family. It looks that life is starting on the bright side with a new job! WOW! Congratulations my friend. I wish you much success and hope that it will fulfill your professional growth.
      Let us do keep in touch. Are you still blogging? Your last one was great – about your parents experience as immigrants. Do continue to write – you write beautifully.
      Take care of yourself and keep well throughour 2012!
      Love,
      Magdalene

  2. Hi Magdalene,
    I like your post.While reading , I was thinking about my life. Sometimes I feel, I am a warrior with attributes of not surrending and not giving up .
    TC,
    Hetal

Leave a Reply

